Simple way for IAS preparation

Saturday, February 8, 2020

Prelims booster(Micro notes), current affairs - 3, 4 Feb,2020

Yellow Rust
Yellow Rust
  • It is a disease that appears as yellow stripes of powder or dust on leaves and leaf sheaths of the wheat crop.
  • This occurs when the rust colonies in the leaves drain the carbohydrates from the plant.
  • Rain, dew and fog favour the disease’s development.
  • It is a major disease in the Northern Hill Zone and the North-Western Plain Zone of India.
Beijing Declaration
  • The Beijing Declaration was a resolution adopted by the UN at the end of the Fourth World Conference on Women in 1995.
  • The resolution adopted to promulgate a set of principles concerning the equality of men and women.
  • It was a critical point in the world’s focus on gender equality and the empowerment of women.
  • The India e-Visa is an electronic authorization to travel to India for business, tourism, or medical visits.
  • When applying for an e-Visa, it is not necessary to submit your passport or other personal documents to the consulate.
  • The e-Visa approval will be issued in advance electronically before your departure to India. and at imigration checkpoint the actual visa will be placed inside your passport.

Coastal Regulation Zones (CRZ)
  • CRZ Notification 2018 is based on the recommendations of Shailesh Nayak committee.
  • Coastal stretches of seas, bays, estuaries, creeks, rivers, and backwaters were declared as CRZs under coastal zone regulation notification in 1991.
  • CRZs have been classified into 4 zones :
  1. CRZ-I: includes ecologically sensitive areas, where no construction is allowed except activities for atomic power plants, defense.
  2. CRZ-II: includes designated urban areas that are substantially built up. Construction activities are allowed on the landward side only.
  3. CRZ-III: includes relatively undisturbed areas, mainly rural areas. No new construction of buildings allowed in this zone except repairing of the existing ones. However, constructions of dwelling units in the plot area lying between 200-500m of the high tide line is allowed.
  4. CRZ-IV: includes the water area covered between Low Tide Line and 12 nautical miles seaward. Except for fishing and related activities, all actions impugning on the sea and tidal water will be regulated in this zone.
Gram Nyayalayas
  • Gram Nyayalayas or village courts are established under the Gram Nyayalayas Act, 2008 for speedy and easy access to justice system in the rural areas of India.
  • The Gram Nyayalayas are presided over by a Nyayadhikari, who will have the same power, enjoy same salary and benefits of a Judicial Magistrate of First Class.
  • They have both civil and criminal jurisdiction over the offences.
  • Only 208 ‘Gram Nyayalayas’ are functioning(only in 11 states) in the country as against 2,500 estimated to be required by the 12th five-year plan.

No comments:

Post a Comment