Simple way for IAS preparation

Thursday, November 21, 2019

Prelims booster(Micro notes), current affairs with static portions - 20 November,2019

National Intelligence Grid (NATGRID) 

  • It is an ambitious  project will be operational by December 31, 2020.
  • The project was started in 2009 in the aftermath of 26/11 Mumbai terror attacks with a budget of Rs. 2800 crore
  • NATGRID is an online database for collating scattered pieces of information from more than 20 organisations in the field of telecom, tax records, bank, immigration, etc. to enable the generation of intelligence inputs.
  • At least 10 central agencies like IB, R&AW and others will have access to the data on a secured platform for counter-terror investigations.
  • NATGRID is exempted from the Right to Information Act, 2005 under sub-section (2) of Section 24.
Forest Rights Act (FRA)
  • The act was passed in December 2006.
  • It deals with the rights of forest-dwelling communities over land and other resources.
  • The Act grants legal recognition to the rights of traditional forest dwelling communities, partially correcting the injustice caused by the forest laws.
West Bank
West Bank
  • The West Bank was captured by Jordan after the 1948 Arab-Israeli War.
  • Israel snatched it back during the Six Day War of 1967, and has occupied it ever since.
  • It is a landlocked territory near the Mediterranean coast of Western Asia, bordered by Jordan to the east and by the Green Line separating it and Israel on the south, west and north.
  • The West Bank also contains a significant section of the western Dead Sea shore.
  • Uighurs are a Muslim minority community concentrated in the country’s northwestern Xinjiang province.
  • They claim closer ethnic ties to Turkey and other central Asian countries than to China
  • They are prosecuted by the China but resolutely denies all such allegations.
  • Xinjiang is technically an autonomous region within China — its largest region, rich in minerals, and sharing borders with eight countries, including India, Pakistan, Russia and Afghanistan.


No comments:

Post a Comment