Simple way for IAS preparation

Saturday, August 24, 2019

Polity-Salient Features of the Constitution-Prelims booster quiz answer day-03

1) Which of the following are correctly matched?
1) 1st schedule - Allocation of seats of the Rajya Sabha
2) 3rdschedule - Oaths
3) 6rd schedule - Provisions relating to the administration of tribal areas in Assam, etc.
4) 10th schedule - Anti-Defection Law
(A)Only 1, 2 and 3
(B) Only 2, 3 and 4
(C)Only 1, 2 and 4
(D)All of the above

2.Which one of the following Schedules of the Constitution of India contains provisions regarding anti-defection ?
(A) Second Schedule
(B) Fifth Schedule
(C) Eighth Schedule
(D)Tenth Schedule
First Schedule
1. Names of the States and their territorial jurisdiction.

2. Names of the Union Territories and their extent.
Second Schedule
 Provisions relating to the emoluments, allowances, privileges and so on of:

1. The President of India

2. The Governors of States

3. The Speaker and the Deputy Speaker of the Lok Sabha

4. The Chairman and the Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha

5. The Speaker and the Deputy Speaker of the Legislative Assembly in the states

6. The Chairman and the Deputy Chairman of the Legislative Council in the states

7. The Judges of the Supreme Court

8. The Judges of the High Courts

9. The Comptroller and Auditor-General of India
Third Schedule
Forms of Oaths or Affirmations for:

1. The Union ministers

2. The candidates for election to the Parliament

3. The members of Parliament

4. The judges of the Supreme Court

5. The Comptroller and Auditor-General of India

6. The state ministers

7. The candidates for election to the state legislature

8. The members of the state legislature

9. The judges of the High Courts
Fourth Schedule
Allocation of seats in the Rajya Sabha to the states and the union territories.
Fifth Schedule
Provisions relating to the administration and control of scheduled areas and scheduled  tribes.
Sixth Schedule
Provisions relating to the administration of tribal areas in the states of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram.
Seventh Schedule
Division of powers between the Union and the States in terms of List I (Union List), List II (State List) and List III (Concurrent List). Presently, the Union List contains 100 subjects (originally 97), the state list contains 61 subjects (originally 66) and the concurrent list contains 52 subjects (originally 47).
Eighth Schedule
Languages recognized by the Constitution. Originally, it had 14 languages but presently there are 22 languages. They are: Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri (Dongri), Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Mathili (Maithili), Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Santhali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu. Sindhi was added by the 21st Amendment Act of 1967; Konkani, Manipuri and Nepali were added by the 71 st Amendment Act of 1992; and Bodo, Dongri, Maithili and Santhali were added by the 92nd Amendment Act of 2003.
Ninth Schedule
Acts and Regulations (originally 13 but presently 282) 19 of the state legislatures dealing with land reforms and abolition of the zamindari system and of the. Parliament dealing with other matters. This schedule was added by the 1st Amendment (1951) to protect the laws included in it from judicial scrutiny on the ground of violation of fundamental rights. However, in 2007, the Supreme Court ruled that the laws included in this schedule after April 24, 1973, are now open to judicial review.
Tenth Schedule
Provisions relating to disqualification of the members of Parliament and State Legislatures on the ground of defection. This schedule was added by the 52nd Amendment Act of 1985, also known as Anti-defection Law.
Eleventh Schedule
Specifies the powers, authority and responsibilities ofPanchayats. It has 29 matters. This schedule was added by the 73rd Amendment Act of 1992.
Twelfth Schedule
Specifies the powers, authority and responsibilities of Municipalities. It has 18 matters. This schedule was added by the 74th Amendment Act of 1992.
3. Which of the following are features of the Indian Constitution?
1) Integrated Judiciary
2) Universal Adult Franchise
3) Three-tier Government
4) Rigid and Flexible Constitution
5) Single citizenship
(A) 1, 2, 3, 5
(B)1, 2, 4
(C) 2, 3, 4, 5
(D) All of the above
From U.K.• Nominal Head – President (like Queen)
• Cabinet System of Ministers
• Post of PM
• Parliamentary Type of Govt.
• Bicameral Parliament
• Lower House more powerful
• Council of Ministers responsible to Lower House
• Speaker in Lok Sabha

From U.S.• Written Constitution
• Executive head of state known as President and his being the Supreme Commander of the Armed Forces
• Vice-President as the ex-officio Chairman of Rajya Sabha
• Fundamental Rights
• Supreme Court
• Provision of States
• Independence of Judiciary and judicial review
• Preamble
• Removal of Supreme Court and High Court Judges

• Fundamental Duties
• Five year Plan

• Concurrent list
• Language of the preamble

• Laws on which the Supreme Court functions

• Suspension of Fundamental Rights during the emergency

• Scheme of federation with a strong centre
• Distribution of powers between centre and the states
• And placing residuary powers with the centre

• Concept of Directive Principles of States Policy (Ireland borrowed it from SPAIN)
• Method of election of President
• Nomination of members in the Rajya Sabha by the President
4.Which of the following is called 'Mini Constitution'?
(A) Government of India Act, 1935
(B) 42nd Constitutional Amendment
(C) 44th constitutional amendment
(D) Government of India Act, 1919
Changes were :
  • Preamble : It changed the characterization of India to “sovereign, socialist, secular democratic republic” from “sovereign democratic republic” and the words unity of the nation‘ was changed to “unity and integrity of the nation”.
  • Parliament: Raised the term of Loksabha and Vidhansabha from 5 to 6 years. The  quorum was left to be fixed by the rules of each house.
  • Judicial : Stating that the amendments can’t be questioned by any court on any ground.
  • Executive: The amendment stated that the president shall act in accordance to the council of ministers.
  • Federal : enable the Centre to deploy armed forces for dealing with situations of law and order in any state.
  • Emergency :authorizing the President to declare emergency in “a part” of the country

5.Which of the following is/are feature of Indian parliamentary system?

(A) majority party power
(B) Presence of Actual Executive and Nominal Executive
(C) Appointment of Executive to the Legislature
(D) All of the above
Indian parliamentary system
Indian parliamentary system


No comments:

Post a Comment