Simple way for IAS preparation

Friday, August 30, 2019

Modern History -Prelims booster quiz answer day-08

 1.Consider the following statements about ‘Swaraj Party’.
  1. It was formed due to disagreement over legislative council entry.
  2. Motilal Nehru was its first president.
  3. It separated from the Indian National Congress in 1924.
Select the correct answer using the code given below.
(a) 1 and 2 only
(b) 1 only
(c) 1 and 3 only
(d) 1, 2 and 3
  • The Swaraj Party was established as the Congress-Khilafat Swaraj Party. It was a political party formed in India in January 1923 after the Gayaannual conference in December 1922 of the National Congress.
  • The two most important leaders were Chittaranjan Das, who was its president and Motilal Nehru, who was its secretary.
  • Gandhiji brought the strife between no-changers and Swarajists to an end. Both the parties signed the joint statement and declared that Swarajists would work in the council on behalf of and as an integral part of the Congress. This decision was endorsed in the December 1924 Belgaum Session of Congress in which Gandhi became president of congress for first and only one time
2.With reference to Indian freedom struggle, consider the following events:
  1. Mutiny in Royal Indian Navy
  2. Quit India Movement launched
  3. Second Round Table Conference
3.What is the correct chronological sequence of the above events?
(a) 1-2-3
(b) 2-1-3
(c) 3-2-1
(d) 3-1-2
Second Round Conference happened in 1931, Quit India Movement in 1942 and Mutiny in Royal Indian Navy in 1946.
4.Who came to be known as the Father of Communal Electorate in India?
(a) Montague
(b) Minto
(c) Cornwallis
(d) Wellesely
  • He was known for the act of 1909 which introduced a system of communal representation for Muslims by accepting the concept of ‘separate electorate’. Under this, the Muslim members were to be elected only by Muslim voters.
  • Thus, the Act ‘legalised communalism’ and Lord Minto came to be known as the Father of Communal Electorate.
5.In the Federation established by The Government of India Act of 1935, residuary powers were given to the
(a)Federal Legislature
(b)Governor General
(c)Provincial Legislature
(d)Provincial Governors
Under 1935 Act, the Governor General was authorised to act in his discretion and under certain other provisions. He could exercise his individual judgment. He was vested with the final political authority in the country; and was given widest discretionary powers and special responsibilities.

No comments:

Post a Comment