Simple way for IAS preparation

Thursday, August 22, 2019

Buddhism in India

Buddhism in India


  • The religion is based upon the teachings, life experiences of its founder Siddhartha Gautam, born in circa 563 BCE.
  • He was born into royal family of Sakya clan who ruled from Kapilvastu, in Lumbini which is situated near the Indo-Nepal Border.
  • At the age of 29, Gautama left home and rejected his life of riches and embraced a lifestyle of asceticism, or extreme self-discipline.
  • After 49 consecutive days of meditation, Gautama attained Bodhi (enlightenment) under a pipal tree at Bodhgaya a village in Bihar.
  • Buddha gave his first sermon in the village of Sarnath, near the city of Benares in UP. This event is known as Dharma-Chakra-Pravartana (turning of the wheel of law).
  • It is one of the important religions of South and South-Eastern Asian countries.
  • He died at the age of 80 in 483 BCE at a place called Kushinagara a town in UP. The event is known as Mahaparinibban
Tenets of Buddhism
  • Buddha asked his followers to avoid the two extremes of indulgence in worldly pleasure and the practice of strict abstinence and asceticism.
  • He ascribed instead the 'Madhyam Marg' or the middle path which was to be followed.
  • According to him everyone was responsible for their own happiness in life, stress.
The main teachings of Buddhism are encapsulated in the basic concept of four noble truths and eightfold path 
four noble truths and eightfold path
four noble truths and eightfold path 

The four noble truths (Arya satya) in Buddhism are:
  1. The world is full of sorrow.
  2. Desire is the root cause of all sorrow.
  3. Sorrow can be conquered by conquering desire.
  4. Desire can be conquered by following the eight-fold paths (Ashtangirka Marga).
Eight-fold path are:
  1. Right understanding
  2. Right resolve
  3. Right speech
  4. Right action
  5. Right living
  6. Right efforts
  7. Right thought
  8. Right self-concentration.

No comments:

Post a Comment